(C) GOVERNMENT OF TAMIL NADU 2021

[Regd. No. TN/CCN/467/2012-14.

[R. Dis. No. 197/2009. [Price: Rs. 2.40 Paise.



TAMIL NADU **GOVERNMENT GAZETTE**

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 115]

CHENNAI, THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 25, 2021 Maasi 13, Saarvari, Thiruvalluvar Aandu-2052

Part IV—Section 1

Tamil Nadu Bills

CONTENTS

		Pages.
BILLS:		
No. 9 of 2021—The Bharathiar University (Amendment) Act, 2021		64-65
No. 10 of 2021— The Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission Amendment Act, 2010	 	66-68

[63] Ex-IV-1-115—E

Under Rule 130 of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Rules, the following Bill which was introduced in the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu on 25th February, 2021 is published together with Statement of Objects and Reasons for general information:—

L.A. Bill No. 10 of 2021

A Bill further to amend the Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission Act, 2010.

BE it enacted by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Tamil Nadu in the Seventy-second Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

Short title and commencement.

- 1. (1) This Act may be called the Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission (Amendment) Act, 2021.
 - (2) It shall come into force at once.

Amendment of section 2.

2. In section 2 of the Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission Tamil Nadu Act Act, 2010 (hereinafter referred to as the principal Act),—

21 of 2010.

- (i) in clause (c), for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (ii) for clause (d), the following clause shall be substituted, namely:-
- "(d) "minorities" mean the persons belonging to religious or linguistic minority communities residing in the State of Tamil Nadu whom the Government have recognised by notification as minorities;".

Amendment of section 3.

- 3. In section 3 of the principal Act, for sub-section (2), the following sub-section shall be substituted, namely:-
 - "(2) The Commission shall consist of,—
- (a) (i) a Chairperson, from amongst the minority communities; and
- (ii) thirteen members, of whom eight from amongst the religious minority communities and five from amongst the linguistic minority communities,
- to be nominated by the Government, from amongst persons of eminence, ability and integrity;
- (b) two Vice Chairpersons, to be nominated from amongst the members, one from a religious minority community and another from a linguistic minority community; and
- (c) the Commissioner of Minorities Welfare Member-Secretary.".

Amendment of section 4.

4. In section 4 of the principal Act,—

- (i) in the marginal heading, for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (ii) in sub-section (1), for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (iii) in sub-section (2), for the expression "Chairperson" occurring in two places, the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (iv) in sub-section (3), for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (v) in sub-section (4), for the expression "Chairperson" occurring in two places, the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted;
- (vi) in the proviso to sub-section (5), for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson or Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted.
- 5. In section 6 of the principal Act, for the expression Amendment of "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairperson" section 6. shall be substituted.
- 6. In section 9 of the principal Act, in sub-section (3), for Amendment of the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice section 9. Chairpersons" shall be substituted.
- 7. In section 13 of the principal Act, for the expression Amendment of "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, Vice Chairpersons" section 13. shall be substituted.
- 8. In section 16 of the principal Act, in sub-section (2), in clause (a), Amendment of for the expression "Chairperson", the expression "Chairperson, section 16. Vice Chairpersons" shall be substituted.

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS.

According to sub-section (2) of section 3 of the Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission Act, 2010 (Tamil Nadu Act 21 of 2010), the Tamil Nadu State Minorities Commission shall consist of a Chairperson and nine other members to be nominated by the Government, from amongst persons of eminence, ability and integrity. The Government have decided to increase the number of members of the said Commission from nine members to thirteen members, of whom, eight shall be from religious minority communities and five shall be from linguistic minority communities and also to nominate two from amongst the members, one from a religious minority community and another from a linguistic minority community, as Vice Chairpersons. The said Tamil Nadu Act 21 of 2010 has to be amended for the purpose.

2. The Bill seeks to give effect to the above decision.

S. VALARMATHI,

Minister for Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare.

Chennai-600 009, 25th February 2021. K. SRINIVASAN, Secretary.